Hope beyond Depression

There is something about being able to speak to one’s soul; to declare the Word of God to and over oneself:

Yes, my soul, find rest in God; my hope comes from him. Psalm 62:5 (NIV)

Why, my soul, are you downcast? Why so disturbed within me? Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise him, my Savior and my God. Psalm 42:5 (NIV)

Those are some of the scriptures I drew on when depression laced into me last night. I felt it approaching the night before but by last night I was desperate. I turned on some youtube Christian music playlists and waited…cried of course, read the Word of God aloud and waited…

As hard as it was and may continue to be, the relief was sure…

For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord. Romans 8:38-39 (NIV)

2 thoughts on “Hope beyond Depression

  1. So true God never leaves us even when we “leave” him. But another thing that keeps me going in my moments of depression is the fact that nothing lasts forever, be it good or bad. Just continue to place one foot in front of the other. Peace and Love, Colette

    1. In the words of Kasey Van Norman, an author who’s book (Raw Faith) I am reading at the moment: God wants us to show up and trust that He will honour that step of faith…so putting that foot in front of the other is a way of showing up. Thanks for your input Aunty Collette!

Leave a Reply

